All licensed drivers in the state of New York are required to carry car insurance. All insurance policies must meet these minimum requirements:
- $25,000/$50,000 Bodily Injury Coverage per person
- $50,000/$100,000 Death Coverage
- $10,000 Property Damage per accident
Drivers must obtain insurance for all registered vehicles including motorcycles. When you register a vehicle you must submit proof of insurance electronically and in-person. Drivers who do not carry insurance in New York risk losing their drivers license and can also face hefty fines.
In many states including New York, minimum insurance limits are also referred to as “liability” car insurance. Liability insurance helps to ensure that everyone involved, whether they caused the accident or not, is covered for their personal injuries and property damage. If drivers of both vehicles carry insurance they are able to submit claims to their insurance companies to cover the cost of their car repairs and medical bills of their passengers.